Reckless Driving

Reckless Driving

In Delaware, reckless driving is defined as any person driving any vehicle with wilful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. Reckless driving is a serious traffic violation that can carry with it harsh and very expensive penalties. In Delaware, reckless driving is similar to inattentive driving minus the aspect of disregarding road or weather conditions. If you’re facing these kinds of charges, you need a Delaware Reckless Driving Defense Attorney.

Delaware Reckless Driving Laws

§ 4175. Reckless driving.

(a) No person shall drive any vehicle in wilful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property, and this offense shall be known as reckless driving.

(b) Whoever violates subsection (a) of this section shall for the first offense be fined not less than $100 nor more than $300, or be imprisoned not less than 10 nor more than 30 days, or both. For each subsequent like offense occurring within 3 years of a former offense, the person shall be fined not less than $300 nor more than $1,000, or be imprisoned not less than 30 nor more than 60 days, or both. No person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall receive a suspended sentence. However, for the first offense, the period of imprisonment may be suspended. Whoever is convicted of violating subsection (a) of this section and who has had the charge reduced from the violation of § 4177(a) of this title shall, in addition to the above, be ordered to complete a course of instruction or program of rehabilitation established under § 4177D of this title and to pay all fees in connection therewith. In such cases, the court disposing of the case shall note in the court’s record that the offense was alcohol-related or drug-related and such notation shall be carried on the violator’s motor vehicle record.

Delaware Reckless Driving Penalties

  1. First Offense: Fine ranging from $100.00-$300.00 or jail sentencing ranging from 10-30 days or both, 6 points on license
  2. Second Offense: Fine ranging from $300.00-$1,000.00, jail sentence of 30-60 days

How a Newark Delaware Reckless Driving Lawyer Can Help You

With many years experience handling traffic violations throughout Delaware I understand Delaware Traffic Violation Law to a great degree. As your attorney I will use that knowledge to obtain you the best possible outcome. Call my office at 302-656-2528. Or, email a Middletown Delaware Traffic Violation Defense Lawyer here.

The Law Office of Brian J. Chapman proudly serves those charged with reckless driving throughout New Castle County, Delaware, Kent County, Delaware and Sussex County Delaware. Within these counties he serves all cities, towns & suburbs in including, but no limited to, Wilmington, Newark, New Castle, Middletown, Smyrna, Dover, Milford, Harrington, Kenton, Little Creek, Seaford, Georgetown, Millsboro, Milton, Lewes, Rehoboth Beach, Dewey Beach, Bethany Beach, Fenwick Island, Ocean View, Laurel, Delmar and Dagsboro.