DMV Point System in Delaware
The Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles along with the state of Delaware has a driver safety initiative called The Problem Driver Improvement Program. The premise behind the program is to identify problem drivers in Delaware and change their driving habits and behaviors. The program’s primary goal is to improve Delaware highway, road and interstate safety.
For each traffic offense or moving violation you are convicted of or traffic ticket you plead guilty to will earn you points against your Delaware drivers license. Beginning at 8 points the DMV will send you an advisory letter. As you accumulate points over time you may be required to enroll in and complete a driving behavior modification program or have a suspension of driving privileges ranging from 4 months up to 12 months. A New Castle County, Delaware Traffic Offense Lawyer will explain all possible options to you so that you can make the most informed decision possible.
If you have been charged with traffic violations such as speeding, reckless driving, aggressive driving or passing a stopped school bus it is in your best interest to call a Delaware Traffic Ticket Attorney. Call The Law Office of Brian J. Chapman at 302-656-2528 to discuss protecting your driving privileges.
Department of Motor Vehicles Point System
The Delaware DMV point system mandates different amounts of points be applied towards your total calculated points depending on the violation you were charged with. Points range from 2 points for a simple violation such as speeding up to 6 points for reckless driving or aggressive driving in Delaware.
The accumulation of 14 points will earn you a mandatory 4 month license suspension. For every 2 points that you accumulate after that you earn an additional 2 months license suspension. A skilled and experienced Delaware Traffic Offense Attorney will fight for you so that, if possible, the minimum amount of points are applied to you license so that your driving privileges are protected.
Delaware DMV Point Credits
A speeding violation of 1-14 MPH over the posted speed limit will not be assessed points if it is the first violation within any 3 year period AND the ticket is reconciled through the Voluntary Assessment Center.
A Delaware driver can earn a 3 point credit if they have completed an approved defensive driving course within 3 years of the violation.
Let a Traffic Violation Lawyer Help You
With several years experience handling traffic offenses and moving violations in New Castle County, Kent County & Sussex County, Delaware Mr. Chapman understands the law and how it works. He will use his knowledge and experience to obtain you the best possible outcome. Call his office at 302-656-2528. Or, email a Delaware Traffic Ticket Defense Attorney here.
Delaware Traffic Ticket Lawyer Brian J. Chapman proudly serves those charged with traffic violations throughout all of Delaware including Wilmington, Claymont, Stanton, Newport, Pike Creek, Hockessin, Christiana, Bear, Glasgow, New Castle, Middletown, Odessa and Townsend, Smyrna, Dover, Harrington, Milford, Seaford, Georgetown, Millsboro, Milton, Lewes, Rehoboth Beach, Dewey Beach, Bethany Beach, Fenwick Island and Ocean View.